Christina Schmid



Jag tittar pa TV dom interjuvar Christina Schmid hon var gift med Olaf som dog i Afganisthan, November 2009.

Han hade varit dar i 6 månader och desarmerat bomber, sista dagen dog han. Sa hemsk och sorgligt. Undra hur det ar att vara gift med en soldat. Varje gang telefonen ringer oroa sig over att kanske kanske nu ar det sista gangen. Hon har sagt i interjuver att nar dom kom och plingade pa dorren och hon sag militär uniformen da visste hon. Nu var det slut. Hon har i alla fall efter allt det har hande gjort ett enormt jobb har i UK och upplyst om vilket jobb militären gor dar nere. Dessutom hade hon en son, och var frånskild. Och hade gift om sig med Olaf och var sa kar sa kar…

 

 

Extracts of letters from Staff Sergeant Olaf Schmid to his wife Christina and stepson Laird:

We deploy out for another two weeks on the second phase of this op which has already cost so many lives. This time we are in Warriors, armoured fighting vehicles, so I will be fine as always … Your picture protects me and I leave it there to watch over me. I've already been living rough for over five weeks in compounds thousands of miles from my warm, gorgeous wife but staring into the same moon which is a constant reminder of how lucky I am to have you. I am pushing to come back bang on six months, no one in this job should do more as we keep getting reminded. Staying alive is like a lottery, patrolling the Afghan badlands is playing Russian roulette with your feet. Dealing with bombs is easy, it's the getting shot at whilst doing a job that tends to make me run like fuck … Will try to phone before we go back out but the phones are a bit of a nightmare with blokes dying all the time. But I love calling you, it's a big release and thank you for being my gorgeous wife, my sexy partner and above all my best mate. I miss you all so much and cannot wait to get back and chill out. I've had so much on my mind but we now have so much to do and need to sort out for our empire honey, I am in the groove. Say hi to all, tell everyone the weather's good, the surf's up. Miss you Lairdy.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi gorgeous wife, well we're now halfway through this. I'm so proud of what you have done and achieved since I've been away - it's really positive. It's already a massive stepping stone to our great future together. Thank you. [Christina and her son moved home]

All you do and have done since I met you and since we've been here has been fantastic … Thank you for being you. I have everything you sent me and it's sitting in my body armour and day sack so you are always watching over me and with me. I feel your energy around me …

I'm glad we've sold the house … that opens so many doors for us. We don't need to rush, though, but we need to start throwing everything into our future and get it right [they planned to move to Cornwall].

I just want the best for my gorgeous family. I've been thinking about it loads. Laird's future is absolutely key and that will come through when we get him in the surroundings we both know will work for him and we're happy with. It's all going to happen and that credit lies with you. You've worked so hard to get it right for him, me and you and he'll appreciate it forever.

Today I have 40 days left to R and R so on the back is something you can use to watch the days fly [a calendar]. By the time you get this you'll already have a few to cross off. I can't wait to see you honey, I really need to be cuddled up with you knowing you are happy and content. I can only feel that way when I've been back with you for a bit and you can feel me next to you for real. I hope you get it, I know you do. The most important thing is I truly love you with all my heart and want the best for you all. As I have said before and I will again, I love you so much, my beautiful, beautiful wife. Big wet kisses and a massive hug.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

One bloke lost his hearing … and X lost both his legs above the knees and one arm and half his genitals. He's staying strong though … I've been talking to him, keeping him strong … Morale has been hit … However with the news that Y got his hearing back when he woke up we're all feeling a bit better tonight … I'm keeping a right open mind about all of this honey and I just can't wait to crack on …

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello Laird, how are you? I've heard from mummy you've been such a good boy at school and at home. I'm so proud of you son and will treat you to something really good on R and R (when I come home). So you have a think about what you would really like to do and we'll do it. It's your big sixth birthday. Please write to me to tell me what you'd like. I'm so proud of you learning really hard at school. You are such a good boy, Laird. Life out here is good, Laird, the people out here will hopefully have a better life because we are here so the place gets better all the time. Alright, must go, got to go to work. I really miss you Laird and can only say thank you for looking after mum. I love you lots and lots and lots and lots.

 


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0